Anti-Aging Cream

September 6, 2007

I don’t need none of it! I’m over the hill and that’s ok!! Alright, I realize that that is a ridiculous statement. I recently saw the musical “Avenue Q”, which is basically my life right now told in song and puppetry. It’s about this guy who just graduated from college, trying to find his purpose in life, struggling with adapting to the real world and wondering “what can you do with a BA in English”? Anh-Thu in a nutshell…except my degree may be even less hire-able. There’s this scene where he’s pretty destitute, fucking up both his professional and personal life, and he bemoans the fact that he’s already so old because he’s “almost 23”. The audience laughed heartily at this, and I too knew that it was silly but in my head I was like “Me too!!!!”. Even if I feel like I should know better at my age and being a college graduate and shit, it’s ok cuz lots of people have no idea what they’re doing with their lives. To me that is both kind of comforting and kind of depressing. Oh well. That’s life, and if anything it’s only for now.

On a related note about aging, I was at a mall yesterday and was accosted by this woman at one of those face cream, lotion, expensive products stand, who basically talked to me and tried to get me to buy $80 worth of stuff by pointing out all this negative stuff about me. She was like “I see you have blackheads on your nose, this cleanser and moisturizer will clear up your skin” and “This cream is great for dealing with stretchmarks.” THANKS  A LOT LADY! I’m just shopping, minding my own business and I don’t want some stranger pointing out all these “negative” things about my body and try to make me feel guilty for not spending ridiculous amounts of money. HARUMPH!

My last little shbeal about getting old: While cleaning the house today, I watched TRL for the first time in a long time, cuz it happened to be on and it was going to have both Timbaland and Daniel Radcliffe (shit! i just realized i missed the Timbaland part!!!!). Anyways I was watching the clips of these new videos and I just didn’t care about them. I’ve seen these kinds of artists again and again before, the scantily clad teenage r&b princesses, the lovestruck white girls, the pop pseudo punk band. That doesn’t mean I think they’re bad, or that they’re not fun, it’s just I’m not terribly interested anymore. I remember in middle school I used to watch TRL all the time, spending all my afternoons with Carson Daly. Even though I was into “alternative rock” (tweeny bopper style, to be honest), I watched cheering for my favorites and talking shit about all the boy bands (who knew that one day I would become part of one?). I remember thinking, how could adults get so out of date with music? To me music was such a big part of my life, and I loved seeing what’s new. I never wanted to be one of those grown-ups who are out of touch, and have that generational cultural gap12 year old me thought it was so easy to keep current, just keep on watching MTV, listen to the radio, read music magazines, etc.   It’s true, it is pretty easy to stay current. However, at age 22, I realize that I don’t really care that much. I could keep tabs on what all the latest trends are, but I don’t really want to. I’m just thinking about how people think about how they want to be when they get older, and how if that doesn’t happen that’s not necessarily a cop out, people change and what they want changes, their value systems, etc. I have a certain idea about what I want to be like when I’m older, what I’d do and what I’d be interested in, but all those aspirations really just reflect me at 22. When I become older maybe i’ll be those things, or probably I’ll realize that I don’t want to be those things I set out for myself.

The exciting thing about daniel radcliff being on TRL today is that I’m totally in a harry potter frenzy (about 6 weeks behind everyone else) so it feels like a weird omen!

final thoughts: now cuz i’ve been so bad at updating my blog on a regular basis, no one’s going to read this!!! waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahh!!!!

2 Responses to “Anti-Aging Cream”

  1. Vivian said

    i’m reading! i’m reading! =D

    i love you anh-thu! i thought the same things when i was watching Avenue Q…and when Princeton said, “I’m almost…23!!” i was totally like OMG SAME HERE, ME TOO OMG SO OLD ZOMFG! even though everyone around us was middle-aged and i still realized i was relatively young, i still felt old in general.

    and, i can totally relate to the whole Carson Daly thing…i watched TRL all the time in middle school too, and even if i didn’t like certain bands, i at least knew who everyone was and what kinda music was in…but now, it just doesn’t matter so much, and that doesn’t bother me that i don’t know know. i think in 5-10 years from now, we’ll look upon our 22 year old selves and kinda laugh and shake our heads at our relative naivete…

  2. supafrantastic said

    i read it silly. 🙂 I love your thoughts on the whole getting-older thing.

Leave a Reply

